Houghton Mifflin Trade and Reference DivisionHoughton MifflinHoughton Mifflin Trade and Reference Division
Houghton Mifflin Discussion Forums
Forum Home | Login | Create Account | FAQ | Search

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Discussion Forums » Alan Lee discusses The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook and J.R.R. Tolkien

Topic: Motivation
Replies: 1   Pages: 1   Last Post: Nov 11, 2005 10:20 AM by: moderator

Reply to this Topic Reply to this Topic
Search Forum Search Forum

Go Back Back to Topic List
Replies: 1
MeTheHead

Motivation
Posted: Nov 7, 2005 10:54 AM
  Click to reply to this topic Reply

First of all, I would like to say that I deeply admire your work as both an illustrator of Tolkien's writings and as a pre-production artist on Peter Jackson's trilogy.
As an artist myself (I just started posting my work at kongisking.net if you have time for a look), I find that I can be my own worst enemy in that my impatience to see my own finished pieces is often the cause of endless procrastination. It's a paradox, I know, and perhaps there is an explanation that I am not aware of, but I have pages and pages of sketches that look like the beginnings of scenes where only the most pertinent elements are completed. I do find, however, that- since taking up the digital pen and tablet, with all its conveniences- I am much more inclined to see a piece through.
My three-fold question is: a) do you also experience this frustrating, procrastinative tendency in yourself? b) do you have some sort of exercise or routine to help you get over that hump? and c) have you found at all that dabbling in digital media has opened new doors for you in any way as an artist?

Re: Motivation
Posted: Nov 11, 2005 10:19 AM
  Click to reply to this topic Reply